December 15 – Best Boss Ever

Colossians; Philemon

Do you like your job? Your answer to that question might depend on the work itself, whether it’s challenging or rewarding. It might have to do with the hours you put in, your coworkers, your boss, your salary and benefits.

In my 37 years in public education I can say there were times I loved my job, other times. not so much. For me, my outlook had a lot to do with who the superintendent and/or principal was at the time.

And there’s the rub. I was working for the wrong boss.

Colossians 3:23-24:

Whatever you do, do your work heartily, as for the Lord rather than for men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the reward of the inheritance. It is the Lord Christ whom you serve.

I always prepared my best lesson to teach the day I knew my principal was going to observe me. But what about the other days, when God was doing the observation?

You, too, might put your best foot forward when your boss is within earshot. What about when the boss is away?

Here’s a suggestion. Do your job as though your Heavenly Boss had clipboard in hand, looking over your shoulder. The difference between this Boss and any human boss I’ve ever had is that God loves us absolutely. He wants us to do well at our jobs so that we represent Him in a positive light. He wants us to be successful so that people will recognize Him in our lives. He wants us to demonstrate His joy, His love, His honesty to our coworkers every day.

I believe that if we go to our jobs every day knowing that we are working for the Lord, we’ll have a better attitude, we’ll enjoy the days more, we’ll do our best work, which might be noticed by our earthly bosses and coworkers, and probably make our jobs so much better.

God gives us the ability to be the workers He wants us to be. He truly is the best boss EVER!

Leave a Reply

