December 9 – Pray For Me

Romans 8-10

Most of us have had occasion to ask a fellow believer to pray for us. I’ve asked you to pray for me once in a while myself. I really do try to remember to pray whenever I’m asked, and I’m sure you do, too.

But have you ever asked someone to pray for you, but can’t put your request into words? Your sorrow runs deep, or your burden crushes your spirit, or the reality of your problem is too overwhelming.

Maybe you don’t even know how to pray about it yourself. How do you put the unspeakable into words?

Paul is reminding us today we don’t have to. After talking to us about what hope looks like, he says in Romans 8:26-27:

In the same way the Spirit also helps our weakness; for we do not know how to pray as we should, but the Spirit Himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words; and He who searches the hearts knows what the mind of the Spirit is, because He intercedes for the saints according to the will of God.

Sometimes, when I’m in the depths of despair, my only prayer is, “Holy Spirit, pray for me.” And he does.

I don’t have to always put together a complete sentence to tell God what’s on my heart. He searches my heart.

Sometimes I don’t even know what to pray for, what answer I’m looking for. The Spirit intercedes for me.

I love the thought that when the Holy Spirit brings my name before the throne, it is with groanings too deep for words. He doesn’t just say, “God bless Connie.” He pours out His Holy heart to the Father for me.

Do you know what the next verse says?

And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose. (Romans 8:28)

Paul said that after assuring us that the Spirit of God Himself has our backs, that He prays for us, His children. Does it calm your spirit, lift you up, give you peace in a storm knowing that the Holy Spirit is actually praying for you?

It does me.

Dear Holy Spirit of God, thank you for praying for me. Thank you for searching my heart, for interceding for me, for knowing what I need better than I do. Thank you for going to the Father on my behalf, and working out even my toughest days, for my good. May God be glorified. Please continue to pray for me, Dear Spirit.

 

Leave a Reply

