December 2 – Gifts And Service

I Corinthians 12-14

Do you know how important you are as a member of God’s Church? I hope you have attached yourself to a congregation of believers in a local church. That place offers an avenue of service that only YOU can fulfill.

“But,” you say, “I didn’t go to college. I can’t teach a Sunday School.”

Or, “I can’t carry a tune in a bucket. They wouldn’t want me in the choir.”

Or, “I can’t be on a visitation team. I wouldn’t know what to say.”

Paul, when talking about Spiritual gifts, says something we all need to hear. Look at 12:7:

But to each one is given the manifestation of the Spirit for the common good. (emphasis mine)

To each one. That’s you. As a follower of Jesus, God has given YOU a gift to be used for His glory. We are all part of one body. But like Paul says, not everyone is an eye, thankfully. Not everyone is an ear. (That would just be weird) Some are fingers, toes, kidneys, eyelashes. And ALL are important. ALL are needed for a healthy body.

Don’t think God hasn’t gifted you. The Bible tells us He did. And your church – God’s Church – needs YOU to use what you’ve been given.

Leave a Reply

