November 22 – Walk The Talk

My reading plan had me reading the entire book of James this morning. Every verse in these five chapters is gold, as far as I’m concerned. So I sat here and asked God what was the one thing I should glean for the sake of this blog today. Here are my thoughts.

I think, as I look at the entire book of James, the author’s challenge to us is to live a consistent Christian life. What does that look like? Words like patient, steadfast, humble, self-controlled, fair, wise come to mind. The fruit of the spirit comes to mind.

The theme of the book might be found in 1:22:

But prove yourselves doers of the Word, and not merely hearers who delude themselves.

Or in 2:17:

Even so faith, if it has no works, is dead, being by itself.

It’s one thing to profess faith in God, to believe that Jesus is the Savior. But the proof of that faith is lived out day by day, by the way we treat people, by the way we handle hardships, by what we say and how we say it. The Christian life isn’t lived in a closet.

I hope you’ll read James today and let God point out the things in your life that can use some refining. Let’s determine to not only wear the name of Jesus, but to live our lives in obedience. If you are a Christian, I pray you act like one.

 

Leave a Reply

