October 23 – Who But God?

John 7-8

Things are starting to heat up for Jesus in these chapters of John. He is becoming well known, and with that came those who flat out thought he was lying, or demon possessed, or just plain crazy.

Some tried to put him on the spot in a very public way. The Pharisees especially tried to use His own words against Him. They believed there were so many reasons according to their Scriptures that proved Jesus could not be the Christ. But then Jesus said things like:

I know Him (God) because I am from Him, and He sent Me. (7:29)

For a little while longer I am with you, then I go to Him who sent Me. (7:33)

He who believes in Me, as the Scripture said, “From his innermost being will flow rivers of living water.” (7:38

I am the Light of the world; he who follows Me will not walk in the darkness, but will have the Light of life. (8:12)

I am He who testifies about Myself, and the Father who sent Me testifies about Me. (8:18)

You are from below, I am from above; you are of this world, I am not of this world. (8:23)

If God were your Father, you would love Me, for I proceeded forth and have come from God, for I have not even come on My own initiative, but He sent Me. (8:42)

Truly, truly, I say to you, if anyone keeps My word he will never see death. (8:51)

and the kicker:

Truly, truly, I say to you, before Abraham was born, I AM. (8:58)

Don’t miss what He is saying here. In no uncertain terms Jesus is telling us He is God. There have been other people claiming the same. But Jesus is the only one who can back up His claim with action, with undeniable proof that He is exactly who He says He is.

Many people, seeing and hearing Jesus believed He was the Christ. They said, “When the Christ comes, He will not perform more signs than those which this man has, will He?” (7:31)

Others seeing the same miracles and hearing the same teaching didn’t believe. So to them Jesus said:

Therefore I said to you that you will die in your sins; for unless you believe that I am He, you will die in your sins. (8:24)

Who but God could do and say the things Jesus did? Who but God?

Leave a Reply

