October 12 – Burdens

Matthew 11

How can some people go through trials and hardships with joy while the same experience destroy others? I think of Corrie Ten Boome, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Joni Erickson Tada, Steve Saint. You many know people like my friend Sherry at the end of a long battle with cancer, yet singing God’s praises with joy in her heart. You probably know other people losing the cancer fight angry and bitter.

We all have burdens. Why don’t we all carry them the same way? I believe the difference is Jesus who says:

Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest. (vs 28)

God doesn’t promise to take away the burden, only to lighten it, only to give us rest in the carrying. Joy isn’t something we have to manufacture when we are going through trials. It’s something He gives out of His great love for us, for our good, and His glory.

Are you carrying a burden? Go to Him. Let Him be to you exactly what you need at this time in your life. Confess your sins, lay your burden at His feet, and let Him give you rest.

_____________

I am actually sitting on my back porch this morning. The hurricane damage is evident on this island but it amazes me how many trees are down around houses instead of on them. In my own back yard a neighbor’s tree fell without touching his house, my house, or the house behind me. It’s like God directed that thing to fall in the only safe place it could have fallen. My windows are intact, my roof is undamaged, my house still stands. We prayed. God answered.

Praise God. I give Him all the glory.

 

 

Leave a Reply

