October 10 -Who, me? Anxious?

Matthew 5-7

I have to confess that I am getting frustrated about not being allowed back on the island since Hurricane Matthew. I have not seen my house and have no idea if windows are intact or if my things are exposed to the elements, the animals, and looters. I don’t know what to expect, and according to the rumor mill, we may not get home for days.

So this afternoon, as I sit in a hotel room, I read the chapters from my Bible reading plan for October 10: The Sermon on the Mount. As is often the case, God used His Word to speak the exact words I needed to hear today. This is what I heard Him say:

“Don’t be anxious, Connie. Isn’t your life more than the things you own? Have you seen a bird recently? What about the flowers at Gibbs Gardens you saw the other day? Or the grass in the lawn outside your hotel window? I take care of nature,” He reminds me, “and I love you so much more than that. Seek Me and you’ll have everything you need.You’ll have Me! Don’t waste a minute today worrying about tomorrow. I’ve got this covered.”

I am reminded to cast all my cares on Him because He cares for me.

So, Lord, Here are my cares, my concerns, the unknown of my situation. It’s all Yours. You know my heart, and I trust You to provide in the perfect way You always do. Thank You for loving me and caring for me. Draw me close to You and let me rest in the knowledge that You know exactly what I need.

2 thoughts on “October 10 -Who, me? Anxious?

  1. Sheila

    So sorry for you. That’s tough not being able to go home. But it is true that no matter what you may lose, you’ll still have the most important thing! Hang in there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

