July 14 – Grieved

Amos 6-9

As I read these chapters today I am reminded that there is danger in getting comfortable, in feeling secure, in reclining on beds of ivory, sprawling on couches, eating and drinking, without caring that people are dying and going to hell.

May we never have the attitude that “At least I’m ok. My salvation is eternally secure. Let the rest of the world get what they deserve.” God calls it “the arrogance of Jacob” (6:8) which is the same as saying, the arrogance of God’s people. That’s me. That’s you if you know Him.

God is grieved over sin, over people dying without the Savior, over disobedience and hate.

Grieved.

Am I too comfortable to care?

8 thoughts on “July 14 – Grieved

  1. The True Light!

    A very serious problem with too many of God’s children, to be sure! It is uncomfortable for many to just speak to our family, friends, and others around us about Jesus. We are afraid of the reaction we might get in many cases. I suppose we might consider the surprise the others may have on judgment day if they haven’t known Christ…

    Steve

    Reply
    1. cazehner Post author

      When I consider the surprise people will have without Christ on judgment day I cringe. I pray that God will find us faithful as He leads us out of our comfort zones.

      Reply
      1. The True Light!

        I pray that I can walk in the Light as He is in the Light, so my sins will continually be washed clean by the blood of Jesus Christ! (1 John 1:7)

        Enjoy your weekend,
        Steve

  2. The Smiling Pilgrim

    “God is grieved over sin, over people dying without the Savior, over disobedience and hate.”

    I love this line.

    I think that is what we need to stress.

    God is grieved for people living in bad conditions both in a physical sense, emotional sense, and spiritual sense.

    God wants us to have wonderful happy and fulfilling lives. He is jealous for us. Not jealous in the crazy ex-boyfriend/girlfriend way. Jealous in the way that he wants you to succeed he wants you to always be growing and finding new ways to prosper. Jealous in the way that he wants you to feel the love of others and yourself and to know that is the reflection of an all so greater Love he has for us.

    When we start understanding just how much we are loved and how much he wants to love us I think it inspires that special part of us that all people instinctively connect with that life is about love and loving others. When we are in other spots or other states of mind we are in the ones affected and filled with the sufferings of sin.

    That has been one of the biggest lessons I have been learning. That what I thought was suffering was never what suffering was about and that real suffering is caused by feeling alienated from love and meaning not the hardships and struggles of life.

    Good post in many ways 🙂

    Reply
    1. cazehner Post author

      Thank you for your thoughtful comment. I might look at God’s jealousy a bit differently than you. I believe Scripture tells us we are to worship God only. We were created to love and be loved by Him. That’s why I appreciated how you put it, “real suffering is caused by feeling alienated from love.” Alienated from God because of sin. Enter Jesus, who bridged that gap for anyone who believes. I think God is less interested in our being successful and prosperous and more interested in our hearts condition before Him, a Holy God. And He is so serious about that, He doesn’t want anyone or anything get in the way. He wants you, he wants me, all to Himself. I love Him for that!

      Reply
  3. blmaluso

    Awesome reminder for all of us to remember how all of our lives are interconnected, and how we are called to share the Love of Christ with all He places on our journey.

    Reply
    1. cazehner Post author

      That truly is my heart’s desire. Thank you for reminding us that we are indeed interconnected, and called to share Jesus. May God find us faithful.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

