July 11 – Many Problems. One Answer.

Isaiah 1-4

As I read these chapters in Isaiah my thoughts naturally went to the state of the world in 2016. What is the answer for the corruption, the hate, the unrest? Is it in President Trump or Clinton? Is it in Wall Street or the Pentagon?

Isaiah, when speaking about a day of reckoning, reminds me to “Stop regarding man, whose breath of life is in his nostrils; for why should he be esteemed.” (2:22)

Our hope is not in anyone sporting a body of flesh and bones. Oh, God will use people to refine His children, and reveal Himself to the world. But it’s not people who are in charge of this world.

I don’t want to get so caught up in world news that I neglect to examine my heart’s condition before God, or before I listen to and obey His voice. I want the focus of my life to be on Jesus, not on anyone or anything else.

When I read Isaiah I see that the world is lost without God. Then I have to ask, what am I doing about that?

Leave a Reply

