July 4 – Passing The Mantle

2 Kings 1-4

I’ve often said that Elijah is one of my favorite Old Testament characters, but Elisha is right up there, too. I love how, when Elijah was heading toward the place God was going to take him into heaven, Elisha stuck to the old prophet like glue. It’s almost like Elisha didn’t want to miss a second of being in the presence of this incredible man of God.

Elijah wore a mantle; a long scarf or shawl. And he used that mantle to part the water of the Jordan River so he and Elisha could cross on dry ground. Elisha saw Elijah being whisked away into heaven. The only thing left was Elijah’s mantle.

So Elisha picked up that mantle, and went on his way. The first thing the young prophet did was take Elijah’s mantle and use it to part the river again. This time Elisha crossed alone. But he went on to continue the work Elijah had begun.

Makes me wonder about two things: One, what is my mantle? I believe Elijah’s mantle represented his faith in God. What is it in me that says to people around me – this is a godly woman, a child of God, someone who serves Jesus out of love? It makes me ask myself what is the work I am doing today that will need to continue when I’m gone.

Then, I wonder if there are some whom I have touched and who will carry on my mission when God calls me home. I have no biological children. But are there those who are born again because I’ve introduced them to the Savior? And will they continue God’s work of sharing Christ after I’m gone?

When I die, and all that’s left of me is my mantle – will anyone even want to pick it up?

2 thoughts on “July 4 – Passing The Mantle

  1. vonhonnauldt

    One thing, among many, that I like about Elisha is that he wasn’t just content to have Elijah’s mantle. He wanted more. He said, “Where is the Lord God of Elijah.” I’m probably worse than many in wishing that we had someone like another Spurgeon, but he was just a man. What we need is the God he served. “Where is the Lord God of Elijah?”

    Reply
    1. cazehner Post author

      Interesting insight, my friend. May God raise an army of men and women who want more, and are willing to use it for the glory of God.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

