June 17 – Acting And Reacting

Proverbs 25-26

I think I’ve shared with you that I relate to the young disciple Peter. Peter lived half his life with his foot firmly planted in his mouth. Peter acted and reacted often without putting much thought into the situation. And I’ve been known to do the same.

Solomon tells us, “Do not go out hastily to argue your case; otherwise, what will you do in the end when your neighbor humiliates you?” (25:8)

Yep. Been humiliated a few times myself.

I watched the NBA finals game last night. A star player from Golden State got ejected after committing his sixth foul, then proceeded to throw a bit of a temper tantrum. There is a reported history of bad blood between that player and the star of the opposing team, the Cleveland Cavs.

So after the game, a reporter interviewed the Cavs’ star, and asked him to comment on the behavior of the ejected Warrior. Emotions run high, and maybe in his younger days the Cavs’ player might have taken the bait and unloaded on his opponent. Instead, he chose to praise the talent of that opponent, and talk about how great a team Golden State is.

He did not go hastily to argue his case.

Seeing that last night, and then reading this proverb today has me examining myself. There are definitely times to stand up for ourselves and for causes important to us. But I want to do so carefully, prayerfully, thoughtfully.

Otherwise I’ll end up looking like a fool.

Leave a Reply

