June 6 – Diligence

Proverbs 10-12

Some of Solomon’s proverbs link together, and some seem to stand on their own. Many in these three chapters have a theme of “integrity,” “work ethic,” “honesty,” “discipline.”

You can read what God inspired Solomon to write about anger, and hope, ego, and consequences.

I was stopped in my tracks by 12:27 when it said, “the precious possession of a man is diligence.”

Diligence? A precious possession?

I’m not sure I can be described as diligent about many things. I do read my Bible about 99% of my mornings. And I meditate and journal on what God speaks to me about in His Word. I’m not as diligent about blogging my thoughts (as can be seen in the fact I am blogging three days worth of devotions today). Yet I guess it could be said I am diligent in my Bible reading.

However, I’ve sat here for several minutes trying to think about other examples of diligence in my life. I got nothing.

Not with music, not with writing the books I’ve started, not with investing in people, or even with cleaning my house. I’m not diligent in my prayer life.

And that’s what’s convicted me here this morning. I’m not sure why I don’t spend more time in prayer, shut away in a closet, just God and me. God seems to be asking me the same thing.

So here it is in black and white: Starting today, I want to be diligent in prayer. I’ll use the last page of the paper journal I write in before I blog, and I’ll list my requests there. Every day I journal, I’ll pray. Really pray.

If diligence is a precious possession, I want diligence in prayer to be mine.

Will you pray with me and for me? I’ll be praying for you.

Leave a Reply

