June 4 – Phones and Ants

Proverbs 4-6

It’s baseball season. That makes me happy. I love the game. I love watching my nephew play on his traveling team. Watching my great-nephew play t-ball is a blast. And I always have the TV turned to the Cleveland Indians’ game whenever they are playing. What can I say? I’m a fan.

When I am at the ballpark, I’m there to watch the game. But as I look down the row of parents sitting in folding chairs behind the backstop, I am astounded at the number of heads that are bowed, eyes glued to the phones in their hands. Oh, they might look up when their kid is at bat. Well, most of the time.

It amazes me how often a TV camera will span the crowd at a professional ballgame, and you’ll see the same thing. The game is going on, but people are watching their phones. My thought is, stay home! Save yourself a couple hundred dollars and play that game or answer that all-important text while you’re sitting on your couch.

How often have you been driving and had to swerve to get out of the way of someone behind the wheel, eyes down, phone in hand?

I know it’s easy to get caught up in technology. Much of our communication is texting, our connection to the world is the internet. And, let’s face it. Some of those games are fun.

And addictive. A few months back I found myself in the middle of playing several games. I might look at the clock and notice I’d been playing for hours, and I never realized how long I’d been sitting. It came to the point where I deleted all but one game on my phone and iPad. I was beginning to become a sluggard.

Proverbs 6 tells us to learn a lesson from watching an ant. An ant is always working. An ant carries its own weight, and then some.

I feel God is asking us today if we are more like ants, or slugs? Are we missing out on family time (and I don’t mean just our physical presence)? Are we neglecting what God asks us to do? Do we steal away time with God in order to make it to the next level of that game, or to read every FB post, or answer every text about what your friend had for dinner?

Put down the phone. Pick up your kid. Or the Bible. Or the vacuum, the lawnmower, visit your neighbor, or… (you know what God has brought to your mind).

Time is something you will never get back. There are no do-overs. Is what is on your phone really that important?

Leave a Reply

