May 20 – Expect It

Psalms 5, 38, 41-42

David seems to be a man who prayed without ceasing. I think he was someone who was aware of God’s Presence every minute of every day. And he depended on that Presence.

David seems to pray about little things and big things, about personal things, and things on behalf of the nation of Israel.

I’m ashamed to say my prayer life doesn’t come close to David’s. I am convicted about what he said in 5:3:

In the morning, O Lord, You will hear my voice; in the morning I will order my prayer to You and eagerly watch. (NASB)

Oh, I pray. I pray for a friend whose body is full of cancer. I pray for my sister still mourning the loss of her son. I pray for a man searching for peace. I pray for our nation, for the Church. I pray, say “amen” then wring my hands about the transgender lies being accepted, worry about the upcoming election, shake my head at the compromises Christians are making, and am tempted to say, “The end is near.”

So why do I even bother praying if down deep I don’t believe God will answer, that we’ve come too far to have hope? My friend is dying, our government is a disgrace, the Church is weak. Oh well. The end is near. I pray and assume nothing is going to change.

If that’s my attitude – shame on me!

David prayed, then eagerly watched for God’s answers. I am reminded God said that if His people – that’s us, Christian – humble ourselves and pray, He’ll heal our land. Do we really believe that? Do we pray expecting God to be true to His Word?

Will you join me in repenting of sin in our lives, then praying believing God can and will heal our land? May God’s will be accomplished in the lives of those of us who know Him. May bodies be healed, hearts mended, Truth revealed and accepted. And may Jesus Christ be glorified because His children prayed expecting Him to answer.

 

 

Leave a Reply

