May 18 – Sleepless In Ohio

Psalms 26, 40, 58, 61-62, 64

I had trouble falling to sleep last night. So many thoughts were running through my head I couldn’t keep up. It was exhausting. I tossed and turned for what seemed like hours.

Here are a few of the thoughts that kept me awake: 1. President Trump or President Clinton – how has our nation come to this sad place in history? 2. Medicare supplements, life insurance – decisions I need to make, 3. financial martial law – this presidency is destroying us, 4. a man I’ve had contact with who is searching for peace – how would God use me to lead him to the Savior, 5. family stuff.

I tried to pray, but my racing thoughts distracted me. So it was with relief I read these psalms today. Many of these verses blessed me. Here are two:

On God my salvation and glory rest; the rock of my strength, my refuge is in God. Trust Him at all times, O people; pour out your heart before Him; God is a refuge for us. (66:7&8)

I don’t know what tomorrow holds. But I will stand on my Rock, and trust God at all times, even in the dark of night when sleep doesn’t come.

God is still my refuge.

Leave a Reply

