May 8 – Mothers Without Children

Psalms 25, 29, 33, 36, 39

Today is Mother’s Day. It’s a day for these precious women to be pampered and celebrated. If you are a Mom, I hope it’s a blessed day for you with your family. My own mother, who has lived with Jesus for twenty years now, is a blessing to me still. I wish I could give her a hug.

But Mother’s Day isn’t a happy day for every woman out there. Some mothers have buried children and feel their loss more deeply today. Some mothers are estranged from their children. Some mothers carry burdens for their children; those who are not living for the Lord, or have devastating illnesses, or are struggling because of choices made. I pray for you, if your heart is heavy on this Mother’s Day.

There are some women out there who have been unable to give birth. Their hearts long to be Moms, and their inability is exaggerated today. It’s hard to sit back and watch other people celebrate, when your heart is broken. I’m praying for you, too.

But there is another group of women I’d like to celebrate today. It’s those of you who chose life for your child, who allowed your children to be raised by other parents. I hate the term, “gave a child up.” In reality, you “loved your child up.”

Years ago, I knew a 16 year old girl who chose life and adoption for her daughter. The lawyer handling the adoption said something I never forgot. She said the girls who are mature enough to make this decision would probably make decent mothers. Their selfless love wants only what is best for their children. This girl realized that at 16, without her family’s support, she could not provide the best life for her little girl. That takes enormous maturity and strength.

As a school counselor I dealt with several too-young mothers. I remember sitting in my office, talking to the mother of a pregnant 14 year old. That mother decided her daughter would have an abortion because, “I can’t take care of it, and there’s no way I could let someone else raise my grandchild.”

So she killed her grandchild.

That’s what saddens me. Abortion is acceptable in our society. The killing of babies happens every day. It’s those of you who choose life who are often scorned and carry the shame.

I want you to know there is one person who is celebrating you today. I pray for your children, that their homes are happy, that they are being raised with the love of the Lord and their parents. And I pray that you can take a measure of satisfaction that you did what was best for that little one, even as your heart might be missing them today.

Happy Mother’s Day. Let yourself rejoice in the fact that you are a mother who “loved her child up.”

 

3 thoughts on “May 8 – Mothers Without Children

Leave a Reply

