May 3 – Lovingkindness

Psalm 106-107

I’ve never really thought much about the word, “lovingkindness.” I know what it means, I suppose. I think I have a pretty good picture in my  mind what it looks like. But as I sit here this morning, I can’t think of an example I’ve read or heard where “lovingkindness” is used to describe anyone but God.

The psalmist uses the word a lot. Even when speaking about God’s discipline of His disobedient children. On one hand he tells of Israel’s struggles in the wilderness, their worship of idols, their constant whining. Then he tells them to thank God for His lovingkindness.

So here’s what I want to take away from these Scriptures today. God is perfect in love and in kindness. He’s like a nursing mother who gazes into the face of her child, heart bursting with love while she holds him close, touches his cheeks, examines his tiny fingers. God is like that daddy who puts those tiny shoes on his daughter’s Barbie because her little fingers can’t do it herself. He’s like the parent who plays catch with the kids in the backyard, even after an exhausting day at work. God is like the grandparent who kneels by the bed ever night to pray for grandchildren through tears of joy or sorrow.

God’s perfect love and perfect kindness cannot be separated. And His lovingkindness is directed toward me. It envelopes me.

O give thanks to the Lord, for He is good, for His lovingkindness is everlasting. Let the redeemed of the Lord say so… (Psalm 107:1-2a)

Leave a Reply

