Jan 21 – Who Loves You, Babe?

Genesis 27-29

Leah makes me sad. I mean, who wants to be married to a man who obviously loves someone else? I wonder what the conversation between Leah and her dad was like the night she was given to Jacob in place of her little sister? Did Leah take part in the deception willingly? How must she have felt when her new husband woke up the next morning and was disappointed to see her?

But Leah must have believed she could make Jacob love her, perhaps even forget Rachael. The names Leah gave her first four sons tell a story:

1. Now my husband will love me.

2. God knows I’m unloved.

3. At least my husband will be attached to me.

But her fourth son tells another story:

4. This time I will praise the Lord.

It took her a while, but Leah finally came to the realization that her relationship with God trumped everything else.

My take-away today is to praise God in every circumstance. Pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks.

I don’t want it to take as long for me as it did for Leah to realize just how loved I really am. I am blessed. Praise God.

Leave a Reply

