Jan 20 – In The Moment

Genesis 25-26

Esau was starving. At least he was very, very hungry. And the stew his brother Jacob had made smelled good. So for a little food, Esau gave up his right as Isaac’s firstborn son.

Just like that.

I wonder how often I have made a snap decision in the middle of circumstances I felt was hopeless. I’m caught up in the “woe is me” feeling of the moment and I do or say something I wouldn’t do ten minutes later.

I wonder how many of God’s blessings I have missed because of my careless decisions. I want to learn from Esau. I want to take a step back, give it some time, pray about it before I do something I’ll end up regretting the rest of my life.

Leave a Reply

