What Frustrates Jesus

I have to say Jesus’ reaction to his disciples when they couldn’t cast out a demon in a little boy bothers me. It seems like he was so mad at them. “You faithless and corrupt people! How long do I have to put up with you?” (Mark 9, Matthew 17, Luke 9) Was he really that frustrated with them?

Lately, God has impressed on my heart the urgency God feels concerning the salvation of souls. He is not playing around. He’s not hiding and hoping someone finds him. He’s in our face every day, trying to get our attention. And for those of us who know him as our Savior, he is passionately trying to get us to be that vessel through which he can reach unsaved souls.

I don’t like Jesus’ reaction to his disciples because I don’t like to think he is frustrated with me, too. I don’t want to think he says, “For crying out loud, Connie, can’t you do one simple thing like talking to your neighbor about me? Can’t you get out of that recliner for two seconds to call that friend I’ve laid on your heart?”

Jesus was frustrated with his disciples, not because he didn’t love them. But because Jesus had tunnel vision. He had a job to do.

He still does. People still need to hear about him, and he is intent on making that happen. May God find his people as intent as he is, as eager to reach the unsaved, with the same tunnel vision as Jesus has.

2 thoughts on “What Frustrates Jesus

  1. Ted Luoma

    That’s convicting. I could see what Jesus saw in the disciples, but I haven’t really translate that to how he may feel about others. About how he might feel about me.

    I recently was trying to share with a spiritually blind friend when I was reminded of a Charles Spurgeon quote:

    “If sinners be damned, at least let them leap to Hell over our dead bodies. And if they perish, let them perish with our arms wrapped about their knees, imploring them to stay. If Hell must be filled, let it be filled in the teeth of our exertions, and let not one go unwarned and unprayed for.”

    Reply
    1. cazehner Post author

      Thank you so much for sharing Spurgeon. I had not seen that quote before but it really speaks to me today. I want to wrap my arms around someone’s knees for Jesus’ sake. God bless you as you continue to share Christ with your friend. I prayed for you today.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

