Message in the Clouds

My sister teaches science to middle schoolers. She is a Christian woman with a very scientific mind. And, yes, those two are not mutually exclusive!

I was walking with her yesterday and she pointed out some wispy clouds in the sky. They were beautiful and delicate, just like lace. She told me those clouds indicated a storm was coming.

The sky was blue. The streaks of white painted a gorgeous picture. It looked anything but stormy. She told me about the different levels of atmosphere and fronts and why those clouds warned of impending rain. But I have to confess, I couldn’t see it. I only saw a breathtakingly beautiful blue sky.

This morning, at about 2:00, I was awakened by a clap of thunder. I listened as rain pelted my window. Those delicate clouds were not wrong.

David tells us in Psalm 19 that the heavens proclaim the glory of God. In fact, all of nature points to the Creator, his power and majesty. Whether enjoying a colorful sunrise, watching trees and flowers come to life in the spring, gazing at stars and realizing the enormity of space, or holding a newborn baby and marveling at the wonder of birth, God is evident in nature.

You can try to deny it. But denying God just makes you look foolish.(Psalm 14:1, 53:1; I Corinthians 1:23-24)

David reminds us that the heavens, although wordless, speak loudly of God’s glory and craftsmanship. The NLT translates Psalm 19:2-4  like this:

Day after day they continue to speak;

night after night they make him known.

They speak without a sound or word;

their voice is never heard.

Yet their message has gone throughout the earth,

and their words to all the world.

To think this powerful Creator wants to walk with me. With you. Do you know him? Have you accepted his Son Jesus as your Savior, repenting of sin and allowing him to free you? Then you can fellowship with the Creator David writes about in the Psalm.

Look to the sky. The clouds are shouting a message to you that God wants you to hear. He is real. He is the Creator. He loves you. And he wants to forgive you so he can walk with you today and in eternity.

My Creator, I praise you for this world that you designed for us to enjoy. I thank you for the warmth of the sun, the changing of the seasons, a cool breeze, or sparkling snow. I thank you for clouds and stars, the moon and blue skies, for rain and blooming flowers. And I thank you that your name is written all over creation. I pray for those reading this today. May we each recognize your power and craftsmanship and declare with nature that you are God. I pray that each of us will bow before you, repent of sin, accept Jesus’ grace, and walk with you today. What a privilege! Thank you, my Creator, for this beautiful world.

4 thoughts on “Message in the Clouds

  1. vonhonnauldt

    Anyone who enjoys the beauty of a Spring day, such as we are enjoying today, or looks up at a starry sky at night, or sees the intricacy and complexity of “nature” and says that this all is just an evolving result of a long-ago explosion truly is blind. Thank you for this beautiful post.

    Reply
    1. cazehner Post author

      It is sad to think of people living in this amazing creation without loving the Creator. The theory of evolution is one of Satan’s most successful lies. And if you’d talk to my sister, is scientifically impossible. Yet people hold on to it with such conviction. So thankful for folks like you who recognize God as you observe nature. So burdened for those who don’t.

      Reply
      1. vonhonnauldt

        Just think of the “odds” for that first change from inorganic to organic, from inanimate to sentient, and all the millions of steps to get from there to here – each one more complex than the next.

      2. cazehner Post author

        Those odds are astronomical! Has an explosion ever caused order? I’m smiling because you sound just like my sister!

Leave a Reply

