God Forgives

I like Psalm 51. David pours his heart out to the Lord and repents of sin. And the psalm explains what happens when I do the same.

The stains of my sins are blotted out. I am purified because of God’s great compassion. “Wash me and I will be whiter than snow”

I, too, am a sinner from birth. I, too, deserve God’s just judgment. But God does not reject a broken and repentant heart. I, with David, pray:

“Create in me a clean heart, O God. Renew a loyal spirit within me.

Restore to me the joy of your salvation and make me willing to obey you.”

Yes, God is faithful and just to forgive our sins and cleanse us from our unrighteousness when we confess our sins, when we repent with broken hearts.

I have sinned. And my sins cost Jesus so much more than I can know. May I recognize sin in my life today and be quick to confess it, to repent of it. May it grieve me to sin against the Holy God who loves me so, who wants to forgive me, and who will forgive me when I ask him to.

Then I will joyfully sing of your forgiveness, O God who saves.

I hope you’ll take time to read Psalm 51 some time today. Let it speak to your heart and may you confess sin as God brings it to mind. Let him forgive you, to wash you whiter than snow, to renew a loyal spirit in you and make you willing to obey him. You will be blessed!

 

Leave a Reply

