My Kinsman Redeemer

Who doesn’t love Ruth’s story? It’s a beautiful account of self-sacrificing love and loyalty. It’s about virtue and consideration of others, helping those in need. I imagine most of us can even quote Ruth’s declaration of love for her mother-in-law, Naomi.

I love how Boaz describes what Ruth did. He blessed her and said, “May the Lord, the God of Israel, under whose wings you have come to take refuge, reward you fully for what you have done.” I know I have taken refuge often under those very wings.

But what I really love about this story is the picture of Jesus, my Kinsman Redeemer. I love how Boaz, as Ruth’s kinsman redeemer, accepted her, provided for her daily needs, covered her with his blanket, and paid the price to make her his own. 

And that’s exactly what Jesus did for me.

Ruth humbled herself when she laid at Boaz’s feet. The result was he lifted her up and brought her into his family. I humbled myself at the foot of the cross when I repented of sin and asked Jesus to forgive me. He lifted me up and brought me into his family, the family of God.

He paid the price – his own dear life – to grant me forgiveness, to place his own righteousness on my shoulders so I can fellowship with my Holy God.

I love my Kinsman Redeemer.

Leave a Reply

