December 20

Jude 1:17-25; 2 Peter1-3; 2 Timothy 1

People have been talking about the Second Coming since the cross. Jude told the first century church, “In the last times there will be scoffers who will follow their own ungodly desires.” Two thousand years later scoffers still follow ungodly desires. The difference is, those desires lead to actions that go viral in our cyber world and portray their depravity as normal. 

So why doesn’t Jesus just come back and put an end to this seemingly rapid decline of humanity? Peter tells us in 2 Peter 3:8&9 that God’s timing is not the same as ours. We live life one second at a time. To God, a day is like a thousand years. He’s not slow in bringing justice to the world. He is, however, patient because he doesn’t want anyone to die without knowing him. 

God is asking me what I’m doing about that. As I read 2 Peter 1:3-10 I am reminded that faith in God is not passive. It’s action, it’s goodness, knowledge, self-control, perseverance, godliness, kindness and love. It’s caring enough for someone to be willing to offend them by calling sin sin and pointing them to our loving God who wants to cleanse them, who died to save them.

How can I wear the name “Christian” and not do what it takes to make it mean something real and vital? Jesus is coming again. Will he find me faithful?

Holy God, I thank you for your promise to come back some day and take us who know you home. I look forward to the moment when I can look you in the eyes and worship you face to face. But, God, while I still walk this earth, may you find me faithful. May I not sit back and relax in the wonder of my salvation. I want to grow, I want to walk with you, I want to be your arms and legs, your voice and your love to people who don’t know you yet. I want to be a soldier in your army with the intent of seeing souls saved for Jesus’ sake. Teach me through your Word and help me to be the woman you would have me be today.

2 thoughts on “December 20

  1. Julie Garro

    I appreciate that you write faith in God is not passive. It’s action. That’s what God wants us to do – Act. We are to be His hands and feet here on earth, while we wait for His glorious return. I love your prayer as you close out this post. Blessings my dear friend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

