December 8

Romans 15&16; Acts 20:7-38

Some of the people Paul greeted are people we only meet here at the end of his letter to the Romans. I love how he attached a description next to each name.

Phoebe, a servant of the church. Priscilla and Aquila risked their lives. Epenetus was the fist convert in Asia. Mary, Tryphena, Tryphosa, and Persis all worked hard. Paul loved Ampliatus and said Rufus’ mother was like his own mother. There are others. I hope you read the list.

Then there is poor Eutychus whose claim to fame is falling asleep in church (see Acts 20). Well, that and the fact that Paul raised him from the dead.

Once again I am reminded that we all leave a mark on the hearts of people we meet. I wonder how I am described. God is asking me to look at my life and consider the impact I have. Is it for good? Am I pointing people to the Savior?

Acts 20:24 spoke to me as I read this morning. May Paul’s desire be my heart’s desire as well:

‘However, I consider my life worth nothing to me if only I may finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me – the task of testifying to the gospel of God’s grace”.

Dear Heavenly Father, I thank you that Paul’s words to the Romans can speak to me so clearly thousands of years later. I want to be as focused as Paul was. I want to be as burdened for the lost. And I want my life to leave an impression of your grace on everyone I meet. Help me to be a hardworking woman for your kingdom.

Leave a Reply

