December 5

Romans 5:1-8:17

Best. News. Ever!

That’s what I think when I read the first 17 verses of Romans 8. Just look at verses 1&2:

Therefore, there is now NO CONDEMNATION to those who are in Christ Jesus, because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit of life set me FREE from the law of sin and death. (those caps are mine)

When I accepted Christ as my Savior, Jesus took on the guilt of my sin and I became guilt-free. No condemnation for this woman! And to top it off, verses 14-17 tell me I became a child of God, a co-heir with Christ. Paul calls it a spirit of sonship. I like it!

So I have a choice, which in my opinion is no choice at all. I can reject the Lord and live according to what nature desires. Or I can accept Jesus and set my mind on what the Spirit desires. Verse 6:

The mind of sinful man is death, but the mind controlled by the Spirit is life and peace.

Death, or life and peace. I choose Christ. It’s a no-brainer.

The Spirit of Christ lives in me. Like I said…

Best. News. Ever!

Dear Jesus, thank you for coming into my heart and life. Thank you for taking the penalty for my sin and setting me free from sin’s control. Thank you for making me your child. I give you my life. I give you my mind. I give you today. Thank you for promising to go with me. Prepare me to do the job you want me to do. I love you, Lord.

3 thoughts on “December 5

  1. vonhonnauldt

    If I may say so, Jesus took the guilt of your sin – and mine, long before we were even born. It is only as we believe on Him and are saved that we begin to understand a little of what He has done for us. It begins, humanly speaking at least, in Bethlehem, although all of history was working up to that moment. A blessed Christmas to you and yours.

    Reply
    1. cazehner Post author

      I didn’t mean to suggest anything else. God laid out his plan in the garden when he sacrificed an animal to cover Adam and Eve’s nakedness. Paul reminds us that Jesus died once and for all. I know the forgiveness that I accepted 2000 years later was paid for on that cross. And I am thankful every day. My prayer is that all who read this blog will accept what is already bought, their salvation. God bless you, my friend. And thank you for yet another thoughtful comment to my rantings.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

