November 11

Mark 16:9-20; Acts 1:1-2:47

What a transformation we see in Peter. Can the man we read about today be the same hot-headed coward who denied he even knew Jesus just a few weeks earlier? The disciples needed a leader and Peter stepped up to the plate. He spoke boldly to the crowd of people and reminded them of their part in the crucifixion of Jesus.

And what was his message? Repent. He didn’t write them off or tell them they had gone too far to be forgiven. He invited them to join him and the other disciples. Many people repented and made a dangerous public statement by being baptized that day. No secret believers here! This act identified them as enemies of the government.

I love the picture of this first century church. They really took care of each other. And, no I don’t think it’s an argument for our current welfare system in the US. They all brought something to the table.

I think it’s a little sad how our modern day churches have lost some of the unity the people enjoyed in Acts 1&2. We’ve become so compartmentalized. Multiple worship services, small groups replacing corporate worship. Mega churches where it is impossible to know everyone – even if you are the pastor. i know there are some good things happening in churches today but I wonder if we aren’t missing out on some important things, too.

I thank God that the Holy Spirit who came upon those dear ones that day still works in the lives of people today. I pray that he will find our hearts open to be filled by him and that we will be determined to obey him as we reach out to those who are lost without him. May we, like Peter, be less concerned about popular opinion and more concerned about proclaiming the truth of Scripture.

Father, that is my prayer. May I follow the example of the first century church and care selflessly for my brothers and sisters in Christ. There are those who are struggling here at home and around the world. Help me to know what you want me to do about that and may you find me faithful. Give me the confidence you gave Peter and may I proclaim your truth РJesus Savior, Jesus the name that will cause every knee to bow and every tongue confess that he is Lord. Jesus, the only way to the Father and the one who holds the key to eternity with you. 

Just a side note: Thank you, US Veterans. I am a daughter of a Marine and the aunt of a soldier and I am proud of both these dear men and thankful for their sacrifice. May all Veterans today know that we Americans applaud you with grateful hearts. And may we hold on to the freedoms your service has provided. God bless each of you today, Veterans Day, and every day.

2 thoughts on “November 11

  1. Julie Garro

    I agree with you, the church is different today than for those first century Christians. We place an emphasis on small groups, so that people can feel connected. Blessings to you.

    Reply
    1. cazehner Post author

      And I understand the intent of small groups. But I’m just wondering if feeling connected to those ten or so people is the same as being connected to the church family, knowing where your gifts are needed, and really being a part of the team. Like I said, I know there are good things happening in churches today. But I think we may have lost some things, too. Purely an opinion! May God bless you today as you worship with other believers in his house and may he be pleased with our worship. That’s what really counts, right? And as always, thank you for your thoughtful comments. I really do appreciate you.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

