October 29

Mark 12:18-40; Matthew 22:23-46, 23:1-36; Luke 20:27-47, 10:25-37

What word would your family and friends say describes you best? Would it be ‘religious’ or ‘giving’, ‘athletic’ or ‘musical’, ‘parent’ or ‘grandparent’? Would they name your occupation? ‘Teacher’, ‘accountant’, ‘preacher’, ‘mechanic’? I hope it wouldn’t be things like ‘mean’ or ‘selfish’ or ‘gossip’. But I wonder what they would say.

After reading this Scripture today I realize I want the word ‘love’ to describe me. First of all, love for God. I want the people closest to me to know without a doubt that I am totally, passionately in love with my Lord. I want that love to be evident in my face, in the words I speak, and the things I do. I want to talk about him, share him, and please him so that everyone knows I love God with my heart, my soul, and my mind.

Then I want my family and friends to know I love them unconditionally. That doesn’t mean I’ll always agree with them or even approve of some of their choices. But I want them to know I love them no matter what so that they will understand God loves them, too.

And I want people I meet in all walks of life, in all skin colors, in all beliefs to feel God’s love through me. I want to see them through Jesus’ eyes.

Jesus tells us the greatest commandment is “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your minds and with all your strength. The second is this: Love your neighbor as yourself. There is no commandment greater than these.”

May it be true in me.

Father, I love you. But I want to love you more. I love my family and friends. I want to love them better. I see people for whom you died. May I love them because you do. I pray that your love will flow in and through me today. And may I love you with all my heart, my soul, my mind and my strength. You are worthy of all my love.

Leave a Reply

