October 20

Luke 12:22-13:17, !3:22-14:24

Sometimes I think God gets a bad rap. I read a blog the other day questioning why God would stand by and watch people destroy the earth. God gets blamed when someone shoots up a mall or when a loved one gets cancer. Many of those same people who point an angry finger at God when bad things happen neglect to acknowledge him in good times.

So what is God’s reaction to the human race? Read what he said about Jerusalem in Luke 13:34. Hear in his voice the pain of a father who watches a son turn his back and walk away.

“O Jerusalem, Jerusalem, you who kill the prophets and stone those sent to you, how often I have longed to gather your children together, as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings, but you were not willing.”

That’s what God thinks about us. He is not up there, angrily trying to get even with those who reject him. His heart is broken. He longs to take the worst of us and gather us into his arms. Jesus, in Luke 12:49-50 tells us that going to the cross is something he was anxious to do. He was eager to complete that work so that God could draw us to himself like a hen gathers her chicks.

But, Jesus tells us, we were not willing.

The state of the world is on us. And hear me when I say, dear Christian, rampant sin is on us, too. Unsaved people are going to act like unsaved people. If we continue to hide our heads in the sand, if we sit comfortably in our pews each Sunday but don’t share Christ with lost people during the week, we are the ones to blame for the moral decline of our world, the acceptance of sin as normal, the evil that would drive a person to kill another. 

It’s not God’s fault. It’s ours who know him and don’t do anything about it.

Father, I am convicted this morning. I am one who will shake my head at the sin on TV or complain about the ungodliness in our society, the corruption in our government. But you are asking me today to look at what I am doing about it. Am I just complaining? Or am I sharing the Gospel with the people in my world? Am I planting seed? Am I praying with someone to confess sin and accept you as Savior? I pray for your church today, Lord. May we do what you intended for us to do all along. May we be willing to be gathered under your wings and bring our neighbors and friends along, too. Save our world, Lord. One soul at a time.

2 thoughts on “October 20

  1. Julie Garro

    How true. Great post. I try not to be near people who want to blame God for the terrible things that happen. I know God is not like that. I love your prayer at the end of this post. (Actually I love that you end your posts with a prayer.) Blessings to you.

    Reply
    1. cazehner Post author

      Thank you, Julie. I know, too that God is a loving God who just wants us to love him back. Oh that others would know that about him, too. May he bless you this Lord’s day.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

