October 7

Luke 6:17-49, 7:1-10, 11-17; Matthew 8:5-13; John 4:46b-54

I think one of the most misinterpreted verses these days is Luke 6:37.

Do not judge and you will not be judged. Do not condemn and you will not be condemned. Forgive and you will be forgiven.

So often we are told “Don’t judge”. But is God telling us we are not to recognize sin? That doesn’t even make sense in light of all of Scripture. How can the God who commands holiness of his people also tell us not to recognize sin? That’s foolishness.

Is adultery a sin? I can say without hesitation – yes. Is murder a sin? Absolutely. What about homosexuality, greed, gluttony, lying, idol worship, dishonesty? Without a doubt. 

So if I say to a gay friend that their lifestyle is sinful am I judging them? I didn’t make the law. God did. God makes it clear he judges sin. And don’t even think for a minute that he creates any of us to sin. I would be wrong if I didn’t try to turn my friend from sin by pointing it out in love.

If I point out to my married friend that her affair with a male co-worker is wrong , am I judging her? What about a neighbor who beats his children or a son who lies? Do I turn a blind eye because I am afraid someone will accuse me of judging them?

However, if I befriend a lesbian or have dinner with a friend who is an atheist – don’t judge me. If I go into a bar with an unsaved friend – don’t condemn me. If God has asked me to invest myself in their lives in order to bring them to him, that’s something you cannot know.

Christian, we need to stand for the Truth of Scripture. There are serious consequences for sin as spelled out in God’s Word. It is our responsibility to warn people of those consequences and point them to the Savior.

And… don’t use verses 41-45 as an excuse not to confront someone. If there is sin in your life – a plank in your eye – you need to confess it and get right with the Lord. Whether or not you witness to a friend you need to confess sin. Period. But you also have a job to do. Your friend who has no interest in the God of the Bible or who has twisted Scripture to rationalize sin is going to hell. Do you understand that? I didn’t make that up. I’m not judging them. They are already judged by their actions.

I know this is not a popular subject these days and it certainly is not politically correct in our “tolerant” society. But ignoring sin in ourselves or in the lives of our loved ones doesn’t change God. He is serious about sin. I pray that we will be as well.

8 thoughts on “October 7

  1. Toni Sprandel

    This is a much needed discussion, and it is confirmation to me as our pastor just preached on this last Sunday. Your words and his are exactly the same! Thank you for sharing the truth, no matter what persecution we get for speaking it, it must be shared! Love you! 🙂

    Reply
  2. H.

    This verse has been thrown my way too-I just told the person this verse means we are not to condemn someone because we ourselves are sinners-only God can judge. but it’s ok to be discerning and call right, right and wrong, wrong based on what God tells us in His Word. We should have a loving attitude, not a critical or condemning one.

    Reply
    1. cazehner Post author

      “We should have a loving attitude, not a critical or condemning one.” That’s exactly what this verse means! Thank you for making it so clear and so simple. May we check our attitudes before we address the sawdust in another’s eye. God bless you and continue to make you a blessing.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

