September 24

Nehemiah 9:38-11:36

84 men signed a detailed pledge, promising they and the rest of the people would live by the law of Moses. They bound themselves with a curse and an oath and boldly stated, “We will not neglect the house of our God.” 

Was it like that when you came to know the Lord? Were you determined to change your ways, be faithful in your service, to love God and obey him for the rest of your life? How long were you able to hold up your end of the bargain?

The Jewish men we read about today were no doubt convinced that they and their families would be able to do everything in the pledge they signed. But history tells us eventually the promises were forgotten.

One thing I’ve learned is that I can’t make a promise to obey God for anyone but myself. These Jewish leaders spoke for the nation of Israel. It was doomed from the beginning. I can’t promise God my sisters and their families will love and obey him. Each of those dear people have to do that individually. 

I can’t even promise I’ll be faithful every day until I die. I can give God today, though because that’s all I have. I know me. And so does Satan. I have struggles and temptations and I am human. I will fail. 

But I can go to my Heavenly Father and confess my sins and know he is faithful to forgive. I can determine to cling to Jesus for strength and the ability to obey him. And he will answer my prayers. 

As I go into my day today I pray that there will be victories over temptation. I pray that God will make himself known to me and I will obey. I pray that I will have the courage to make choices that allow me to be the woman God intends for me to be today.

I can pray the same for you. But it’s up to you to make it happen.

Let’s choose Jesus today. I’m going to.

 

3 thoughts on “September 24

Leave a Reply

