September 20

Psalms 111, 112, 117, 119:1-72

The psalmists knew how important it is for us to be in the Word, to know what is there and to live by it. These authors loved God’s Word and trusted it completely. Do I? Really?

I have to say I am a woman who looks forward to reading God’s Word each day and finding out what he would reveal to me through it’s pages. But I also have to admit it is much easier to be faithful to that since I retired from teaching. If I look back at the journals I kept during my working years I would see an irregular pattern. And sometimes days and weeks would go by when I wouldn’t even open the Bible.

I think back then I thought of my daily Bible reading as just one more thing on my already busy “to-do” list. It has turned into thinking about it as a privilege these days, though.

I encourage you to read these psalms today and catch the love of Scripture these men had. Do you realize the words recorded here are God’s words to you, personally? Every time I open these precious pages I can envision a letter addressed, “Dear Connie” and signed, “Love, God”. It’s that personal.

What would God say to you today? Open his Word and find out. Catch the excitement of a child opening gifts on Christmas morning. In these pages is something amazing just for you. I pray you won’t miss it.

4 thoughts on “September 20

  1. H.

    The following verses really spoke to me:
    Ps 112:7-8 “He(the righteous) is not afraid of bad news; his heart is steady; he will not be afraid, until he looks in triumph on his adversaries.”
    Ps 117:2 ” for great is His steadfast love toward us, and the faithfulness of the Lord endures forever”
    Ps 119:37 ” turn my eyes from looking at worthless things; and give me life in your ways.”
    Ps 119:71 “It is good for me that I was afflicted, that I might learn your statutes.”

    Reply
    1. cazehner Post author

      Wow, H. Thanks for sharing what God said to you today through his Word. Each one of those verses contain precious truths. May God bless you as you look to him and depend on his faithfulness.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

