September 10

Zechariah 7:1-8:23; Ezra 5:1-6:18

Here’s a question.

God asked the Jews, “When you fasted and mourned in the fifth and seventh months for the past seventy years, was it really for me that you fasted?”

Ouch.

That verse has prompted me to question myself. Church attendance, praying, reading Scripture, this blog, volunteering, tithing. What are my motives behind everything I do in Jesus’ name?

Am I looking for recognition? Do I like how I feel when I’ve been to church? 

I had a friend who had the flu on a Sunday morning and wasn’t able to participate in the Communion service. I spoke to her on that Monday and she said she hated missing Communion because then it seemed bad luck followed her all week. Really? Do we take Communion for good luck?

If I go to a worship service looking for some “feeling” of worship – my focus is on me not God. If I sing in the choir or teach Sunday School hoping to get an “attaboy” I’m in it for me.

Why am I really serving the Lord? Is it because I want him to bless me? Or have I honestly caught his zeal for lost souls?

I need to take inventory today and I’m pretty sure I have some things to confess to my Savior. I want to be able to look him in the eye and know my life was all about him. Period.

Heavenly Father, you created us with egos. You created us with feelings. And we all want to be accepted. So, God, I pray that you will help your children to set aside those things that we think we need and turn our focus on you. What is it you want us to do today? May we do it because we love you, because we want to give back to you, because we want to see souls won for eternity. And may we do it regardless of the personal outcome. Thank you for reminding us that this life is all about you. Forgive us when we try to make it about us.

Leave a Reply

