September 1

Ezekiel 47:1-48:35, 29:17-30:19

You remember the story of Moses and the Israelites who, when dying of thirst in the desert, were saved when water came rushing out of a rock. When Jesus met the woman at the well he told her that if she drank the Living Water she would never thirst again.

Here in Ezekiel’s vision we see water again as an example of God’s provision. The man who took Ezekiel through this vision told about the water that flows into the sea and makes the salt water fresh.

How has God’s Presence in your life – in mine- changed us? Do we still thirst for worldly pleasure and gain? Or have we allowed Jesus to fill and satisfy every longing?

Do we still hold on to the behaviors of our past or have we allowed God to transform us into something sweet and useful for the kingdom? God has the power to change even the saltiest among us.

As you go to church today, I pray you will go knowing you are worshiping the Living Water. May he fill you to overflowing and cause you to bear fruit. 

And may you never thirst again for anything other than more of him!

8 thoughts on “September 1

  1. Toni Sprandel

    I was so excited to go to church on Sunday. I am not sure why but I just had the strongest desire to get there (I must have been “thirsty”)to begin the worship part of the service. It had been a tough week and I think my soul (was dried up) & knew that was exactly what I needed. It was a wonderful time of worship and it filled my soul with contentment, relieving my thirst!

    Reply
  2. H.

    All the water talk in this post is reminding me of the camp song I sing with my kids. “I’ve got a river of life flowing out of me; makes the lame to walk and the blind to see, opens prison doors sets the captive free-I’ve got a river of life flowing out of me! Spring up oh well, in my soul! Spring up oh well, make me whole! Spring up oh well, give to me, that life abundantly!

    Reply
    1. cazehner Post author

      I don’t know that song but I love the words and that your children are singing it with you. Spring up, O well, give to me, that life abundantly! May that be true for all of us.

      Reply
  3. vonhonnauldt

    Just wanted to stop by and thank you for liking one of my posts. What a wonderful idea you have with your blog – encouraging the reading through of Scripture. Seems like that’s a strange thing to have to do when we speak of how much we love the Lord – yet how few, it seems, read His love letter to us.

    God’s best to you and yours.

    Reply
    1. cazehner Post author

      Thank you for your encouraging words this morning. It is sad that we too often take God’s love letter for granted. Committing myself to this blog this year has led me to look forward to what God would reveal to me each day through his Word. It is an exciting journey I highly recommend! The Bible truly is alive and relevant for 2013. May God bless you. I look forward to reading more of your posts.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

