August 23

Lamentations 5:1-22; 2 Kings 25:22-26; Jeremiah 40:1-42:22

As I read this morning I found myself wondering what it was about the poor people that even the King of Babylon wasn’t interested in. He had captured Jerusalem and took prisoners. But according to Jeremiah 40:7 he left the men, women, and children who were the poorest in the land.

These people were advised to serve the King of Babylon and things would go well with them. But the King obviously didn’t consider them a threat.

So I find myself asking – does my enemy consider me a threat? Or does Satan leave me be because he’s not concerned about my testimony?

I may call myself a Christian but do I go days or weeks without reading God’s Word and am rarely convicted when I do? Do I attend church most Sundays, but have learned the art of dozing with my eyes open? Is Satan worried about my prayer life? Does he tremble at the thought of me reaching out to my neighbor who doesn’t know Christ?

This might sound strange – but I don’t want to be left out. I want Satan to fear me and throw me his best shot. Because if he does, he’ll be defeated by God himself who lives in me.

Didn’t Paul count it all joy to represent God in the midst of trials? Didn’t Jesus ask us to take up our cross and follow him? Hasn’t God proven over and over that we are more than conquerors through him?

God, forgive me when I drift so far away from you that even Satan ignores me. I’m not asking for heartache or problems in my life. But I am asking that my relationship will be so strong, so vital, that Satan will be threatened by it. Then, when heartaches or problems come my way, you and I will be able to handle them so you can be glorified. Go with me into battle today, Lord. May your purpose be accomplished in me.

5 thoughts on “August 23

  1. Julie Garro

    Your posts are very insightful. I’m so glad I have found your blog.
    I’ve been going through the Bible in one year so these posts are so relevant. It’s great to see another viewpoint on these Scriptures.You really make me think – you really convict me sometimes. Thank you.

    Reply
    1. cazehner Post author

      Thank you for visiting my blog. If God convicts you as he convicts me, I am humbled and thankful. I am glad to know we are on this journey together. May God bless you as you read through his Word this year.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

