July 29

Psalm 81; Jeremiah 47:1-8:47; 2 Kings 23:29-30; 2 Chronicles 35:20-36:1

Don’t go, Josiah. This is not your battle. Stop opposing God or he will destroy you.

God sent that message to Josiah through Neco king of Egypt.  But Josiah went into battle anyway. And he didn’t survive. This young man who had done so much good for the kingdom died like anyone else.

Was it God’s will? Did God take Josiah because his time was up?

No! If that were the case I doubt God would have bothered to warn him not to go to battle.

Once again I am reminded that God did not create robots when he created man. He knew Josiah would not heed his warning but that’s not the same as making it happen. Had Josiah listened to God I wonder what other amazing accomplishments we would be reading about today instead of reading about Josiah’s death.

God speaks to each one of us when we read his Word. He may use the voice of a Christian friend. But as sure as I am sitting at this computer today, God is trying to get my attention. He’s trying to get yours. And when he does we have a choice. We can obey. 

Or not.

Of course he knows what we’ll decide but rest assured his will is that we obey. 

Heavenly Father, I want to hear what you have to say to me today. As I read your Word, as I talk with people who love you, may I have my ears and heart on alert. I don’t want to miss what you want me to know. And I want to obey whatever it is you reveal to me. May your people be quick to listen and quick to obey.

One thought on “July 29

Leave a Reply

