July 1

Hosea 5:8-7:16, 8:1-9:17; 2 Kings 16:10-18, 15:30-31; 2 Chronicles 28: 22-25

The title my Bible gives Hosea 6 is “God Wants Israel’s Love”. If you read it from God’s broken heart you can hear the agony, the longing for his people to come back to him. If you read it as though it was talking about the spiritual kingdom in 2013, the church,  you will also read God’s desire that we love him, too. And it brings him no pleasure when we reap the consequences of our rejection of him.

“Your love is like the morning mist, like the early dew that disappears.”

“For I desire mercy, not sacrifice, and acknowledgment of God rather than burnt offerings.”

“…they don not realize that I remember all their evil deeds. Their sins engulf them: they are always before me.”

“Foreigners sap his strength, but he does not realize it.”

“(the church) is like a dove, easily deceived and senseless.”

“I long to redeem them but they speak lies against me.”

Do you love God? Do you have that deep down, honest, passionate love for him? Do you talk to him every day? Do you listen to what he wants to say to you through the pages of his written word?

That’s really all he wants. He wants us to love him.

Dearest Father, we often speak about your love for us, that unending, unconditional love that we don’t deserve. But today I want to love you. Just love you. May everything I do and say reflect how much you mean to me. May I love you without expecting anything in return except the privilege of loving you.

Leave a Reply

