June 22

2 Kings 11:4-21, 12:1-16, 10:28-36, 13:1-3, 22-23; 2 Chronicles 23:1-21, 24:1-16

I used to be a good clarinet player. I use the past tense because I haven’t played in years. Someone has said if you don’t use it, you lose it. I know that’s true.

As I was reading our scripture this morning, Jehoiada’s words to the Levites reminded me of my clarinet. The priest certainly wasn’t talking about music but God seemed to bring it to my mind as I read, “… all the other men are to guard what the Lord has assigned to them.” (2 Chronicles 23:6)

Now I know we need to be careful about pulling a scripture out of context. But I think God is convicting me for not guarding what he assigned to me. He gave me musical ability and I’ve squandered that away.

Can you identify the gifts and talents God blessed you with? Maybe God is asking you to guard them. Use them for his glory. He gave those things to us for a reason. Don’t miss out on the blessings that come from using them in service to our Lord.

Guard what the Lord has assigned to you.

2 thoughts on “June 22

Leave a Reply

