May 24

2 Chronicles 6:1-7:3; I Kings 8:22-61

Wouldn’t it have been something to have been there? The temple’s dedication ceremony must have been incredible. Trumpets and singing, psalms and prayers. Then God appeared in fire from heaven. It’s too bad no one captured it for YouTube. I would have liked to be a part of it all.

But once again I am reminded that the same God lives in me. When a person accepts Jesus as Savior, the God of Creation takes up residence in the heart of the redeemed.

My salvation as a child was not quite so dramatic. Even when I re-dedicated my life at a later age, confessing sin and allowing Jesus to cleanse me there was no fire from heaven. I’ve heard of dramatic conversions. Paul for one. Accounts shared by missionaries.

But just because there wasn’t a clap of thunder or trumpets sounding doesn’t mean I didn’t go from being on my own to having God Himself enter my heart. I don’t need fanfare to know once I was lost but now I’m found.

Reading this Old Testament account makes me realize what a very big deal it is that God lives in me. I may not have heard it, but the Bible says there is rejoicing in heaven when a person comes to Christ. Trumpets and singing? Prayers and psalms? Heaven knows the magnitude of the reality of Christ living in me.

May I know it, too.

Father, I am humbled by the fact that you are here with me right this minute, that you live in my heart as real as you were the day you entered Solomon’s temple. Help me walk through the day today with that knowledge. Help me to live honoring the privilege of having you so near.

4 thoughts on “May 24

  1. cazehner Post author

    Thanks, Toni. I am rejoicing in his very real presence! Love you, too! And I trust you’ll have a great weekend as well. Tell your family I said hello!

    Reply
    1. cazehner Post author

      I need to learn how to do this blog thing better so that my replies aren’t posted like comments. I’m a blogger-in-progress 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

