May 6

Psalms 138, 139, 145, 8; 2 Samuel 21:1-14, 9:1-13

If you read nothing else today, I hope you will take a minute to read Psalm 139 and let God tell you how much you are loved. He will remind you that he has been with you since the moment you were conceived. In fact, he knew you thousands of years ago and saw you then as clearly as he sees you today. 

He wants you to know that he is always with you… even in the darkest of days.

And here is what touched me this morning. Verse 17 says – How precious to me are your thoughts, O God! How vast the sum of them.

God is letting me know that there isn’t a moment when he isn’t thinking about me. There isn’t a second of the day when I don’t have 100% of his attention. I don’t have to whisper a formal prayer to get him to turn his eyes toward me. And he never puts me on hold while he talks to someone else.

His thoughts concerning me outnumber the grains of sand. “You hem me in, behind and before; you have laid your hand upon me. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too lofty for me to attain.” I love this picture.

I don’t understand how this can be but I believe it with all my heart. You and I are loved by the God of creation. You and I are always on his mind and he is always present with us both. We are hemmed in individually, hugged tightly individually.

So I hope you read Psalm 139. Let the “I” written there come from your heart. Let God hug you today. 

Leave a Reply

