April 23

Psalms 31,56,40, I Samuel 27:1-12,28:1-2,29:1-11, I Chronicles12:1-7

David lied. While given safety in the land of the Philistines he attacked their towns, then lied to Achish – the very one who had granted him safety. I’m troubled by that so I went to Matthew Henry whose commentary I trust.

Henry points out that at the beginning of I Samuel 27 David is in a bad mood. Mr. Henry calls it melancholy. And from this dark place David allows himself to drown in self-pity.

Saul’s gonna kill me, he says. I might as well go live with the enemy.

David lives with the Philistines for more than a year. During that time he lies to Achish, then volunteers to fight against Israel as part of Achish’s force. Just one bad choice after another.

We all get in bad moods once in a while. We all experience times of depression. It’s at those low moments when Satan jumps in with both feet. And it’s at those times when we are the most vulnerable. 

I am reminded that even as Christians we are not promised smooth sailing. Bad things happen. Emotions are a roller coaster at best. There are times when it’s hard to find the joy.

But God is telling me today to hold on. Not to myself. Not even to a doctrine. But hold on to him. Trust him when I don’t see any way out. Praise him when my heart is breaking. Recognize that he is able to see me through and underneath are the everlasting arms. 

And I am reminded that I probably shouldn’t make major decisions when I am feeling low. David made some pretty bad choices when he was depressed. What’s to say I won’t do the same.

Getting through those low moments may be a matter of saying God, I’m hurting. I don’t know what to do and don’t have the energy to try. Lift me up because I am drowning. Thank you for loving me, staying with me, and wanting what is best for me. 

If we don’t give our down times to him, don’t be surprised if we sink deeper. That’s where Satan wants us to live. My prayer is that we won’t let our enemy get what he wants.

Lord, I pray for hurting people. I pray that each one will look to you and trust you with today. I pray for victory over Satan’s attempt to destroy what we have with you. I pray for a measure of joy for all of us no matter what we are facing. Thank you for your promise to never leave or forsake us. Make yourself known to us. We are counting on you today.

Leave a Reply

