April 22

2 Samuel 22, Psalms 14, 53, 1 Samuel 26

The fool says in his heart that there is no God. I don’t get how anyone can deny God when there is so much evidence surrounding us. Evidence that points to God as Creator, Powerful, Merciful. 

I would think that those of us who read today’s Scripture and this blog know that God is who he says he is. We believe.

But wait. How does my belief in God translate to my day-to-day? What is it I believe about God?

Scripture tells us God is the one true God. It tells us he is holy, the Creator of this world. It tells us that Jesus is the Way, the Truth, and the Life and no one can get to God except through him. Scripture tells me that Jesus died on a cross so that my sins can be forgiven. And it tells me one day every knee will bow before him and even the fool who said there is no God will acknowledge that Jesus is Lord and God is real.

Scripture tells me that God demands holiness of us. He put down a set of rules we must live by. Breaking those rules… sin… has only one outcome. Death. It also tells me he provided a way for us to be forgiven of all our sin.

Scripture warns us that those who accepted Jesus in this life time will go to heaven. All others will spend eternity in hell. Period.

So if I truly believe that God is God and his Word is true, if I understand people will go to hell without him, that there is just no other way… why aren’t I doing more to share him with my friends, neighbors, and family? 

It’s not just the ones who deny God who are fools. We who know God and don’t share him just might be the biggest fools of all.

Father, I believe. Yet I have foolishly ignored opportunities to share your truth with friends and loved ones. Forgive me and help me to recognize your leading, to be faithful to you, and to introduce someone to the one true God who loves them and gave himself for them.

Leave a Reply

