February 16

Leviticus 1-4

I guess I always pictured the priests doing all the work for a sacrifice. Today when I read I noticed that the person coming for forgiveness seems to do the slaughtering in front of the Tent of Meeting before the Lord. After the animal was killed the priests took over.

If I’m reading this right, anyone who sinned… your average Joe, a community leader, a priest… was required to spill the blood of his sacrifice himself. I am reminded that salvation is personal.

When I sin I must go to God on my own behalf. I must personally lay my life at his feet and submit to Him. I need to ask for forgiveness for myself. I need to ask Jesus to come into my life. No one else can do it for me.

A Jew wasn’t forgiven if he stood next to someone who offered a sacrifice. He wasn’t forgiven if his parents did what was required. I think he had to raise that knife and slash into that animal until its blood was spilled. He had to lay his own sins upon that sacrifice in order to receive forgiveness.

Dear Father, Thank you for making salvation personal. Thank you for offering yourself as a sacrifice for my sins. And thank you for the forgiveness that is mine when I come to you.

2 thoughts on “February 16

    1. cazehner Post author

      That’s why I love reading God’s Word. It never ceases to amaze me that no matter how many times I read it, there is always something to learn. Thanks for your comment. May God bless your day.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

